Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

It’s like climbing a mountain!

on June 3, 2012

Good Sunday morning. It’s nice to get on here early and have the family still asleep.

I opted out of exercise at home today and figured I get enough torture later on. Why you ask? Well, we are heading to Roche-A-Cri State Park this morning to tackle the 300+ stairs to the top of the monolith! It’s been over 10 years since hubby and I made this trek. I was pushing 200# at that point in my life and I was about to DIE before we made it up those stairs! I’m now around 150# and in WAY better shape, so I’m hoping it’s not so challenging for me! LOL The girls on the other hand have no idea what they are in for! 🙂 There are also some shorter trails that we are going to explore while we are there.

We had hoped to add strawberry picking to today’s adventures, but the berry patch is picked out and closed today. Boo! Maybe we can pop over during the week and pick our berries for the summer. I’d hate to miss it this year.

Our plans for today are strictly the state park. I got my weeding done yesterday and most of my garden is coming along pretty well. I’ll start out with what is doing poorly and then end on the positive note.

  • Broccoli – 3 plants have gone to flower, I have no idea why.
  • Lettuce & Spinach – I don’t think I’m going to get anything out of those things this year.
  • Cilantro – nothing’s happening yet either
  • Celery – about 2/3 of the plants seemed to have survived the transplant
  • Pole beans are doing well.
  • Peppers have really started to grow as have the tomatoes (I only lost one plant)
  • The squash and cucumbers plants have grown immensely.
  • Finally, the potato plants are ginormous this year! Woo hoo!

This coming week is the first official week of summer vacation for the girls. Here’s how our week is shaping up together…

  • Monday – I have Zumba at 9:30am – Sign the girls up for the summer reading program at the library
  • Tuesday – I have Zumba at 8:30am – The girls have Zumba at 10am-10:45
  • Wednesday – I work at 11ish. I’m taking the girls with me with a packed lunch for them to eat since I work until 1:30-2pm. I work in Reedsburg that evening and the girls are going to grandpa’s house from 3:30-5:30, until hubby can pick them up.
  • Thursday – The girls have Zumba at 10am.
  • Friday – ?
  • Saturday – I’m going to Zumba at 8am.

My goals for the summer are Zumba on Monday, Tuesday and Saturday. At minimum I want 2 days a week of classes.

I never did post about the girls’ charts for the summer. Basically it’s a June, July & August calendar. They have the opportunity to earn 5 stars per day. I have 5 different colored star stickers and they each stand for something. They stand for reading, math, activity, chores and not snacking all day (this was their idea!). The girls haven’t even asked WHY they are earning all these stars. I mostly want it as a tool so they can see how many things they can accomplish in a day, week, month, over the summer! So far they are in to it, let’s hope it lasts.

Enjoy the day!

One response to “It’s like climbing a mountain!

  1. Libby says:

    LOL!! We must both be early risers! Enjoy your park hike today! We have a new state park in our area. They are still in the process of making trails and I cant wait to hike it!! I have started running since joining WW and am up to running 5 miles. My goal for this summer is to add some swimming in to my routine…instead of just laying out beside the pool! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

