Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

Destinations, a recipe and a plan

on August 15, 2012

I found this info on a blog I like to read http://www.pbfingers.com/2012/08/14/20-places-every-american-should-see/ Let’s see how I stack up.

According to Budget Travel these are the 20 places every American should see in their lifetime: 

  1. Grand Canyon – I’ve seen the western side of it only
  2. Yellowstone National Park
  3. Highway 1, California
  4. Magic Kingdom (Orlando, Florida) – check!
  5. Times Square, New York City – check!
  6. Las Vegas Strip – check! Is it a bonus to be married there?
  7. Hollywood Walk of Fame – check!
  8. South Beach (Miami, Florida)
  9. French Quarter (New Orleans, Louisiana)
  10. Gettysburg National Military Park
  11. Nashville, Tennessee
  12. National Mall, Washington, D.C. – check!
  13. Independence National Historical Park (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  14. Taos Pueblo, New Mexico
  15. Fenway Park (Boston, Massachusetts)
  16. Civil Rights District (Atlanta, Georgia)
  17. Architecture in Chicago, Illinois
  18. Pearl Harbor
  19. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City
  20. Ellis Island, New Jersey

How do you stack up?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now on to last night’s supper. It was a huge hit and featured a ton of fresh veggies! The original recipe is from Taste of Home, but I did make some changes. Here’s my version.

Turkey Vegetable Skillet

  • 20 oz. ground turkey breast
  • 1/2 c. onion, chopped
  • 1/2 c. peppers, chopped
  • 1/2 c. celery, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 pound fresh tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 pound zucchini, diced
  • 15 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 t. dried basil
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 1/2 t. italian seasoning
  • some salt

In a large skillet cook the turkey, onion, peppers and celery until turkey is no longer pink. Add in garlic. Drain. Add in remaining ingredients, reduce heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes, until veggies are tender.

6 servings is 5 PP+ and is a nice size portion. We topped ours with some mexican shredded cheese. Thankfully everyone in the family enjoyed this dinner and bowls were empty. Hubby even went back for seconds! Thank goodness there are leftovers for them to eat tonight while I’m at work.

~~~~

Now on to my plan. First a confession. I haven’t tracked an entire day worth of food since last Tuesday. I start out tracking and then just stop halfway through the day. Bad, because then I eat junk. So, how am I going to rectify this?

Today at my meeting I’m buying a new 3 month journal to track my food. I WILL track everything starting tomorrow. I’m also going to purchase another calendar from the Dollar Tree today to put my reward stickers on. I get a sticker for tracking the whole day and for exercise. My goal is to track consistently until my birthday on September 30th (that’s 46 days). WHEN I accomplish that I will reward myself with a massage. I haven’t had one in ages and it would be a nice birthday present to myself.

I also need to walk more after supper. Last night C and I headed out around the loop together, yeah, it takes a lot longer with her short legs, but it’s nice time to be together and talk. Last night we chatted about her returning to school and the fears she has about going into a bigger school. It’s good to have one-on-one time.

I need to continue with strength training. It’s obvious is helped me to lose some inches in my butt and thighs and that’s something I’d like to continue to happen. 😛

So, that’s the basics of my plan. I’ll also continue Zumba classes when I can and working out at home. For now, I need to get my food back under control.

I also was thinking about my points per day.

  • Technically I get 26 points plus per day.
  • I have the 49 extra points plus per week.
  • I earn an average of 44-50 activity points plus per week. (according to my ActiveLink)
  • That means I have 275-281 points plus available each week.
  • That’s an average of 39-40 points plus per day that should allow me to maintain my weight.
  • I find myself struggling with 26 points plus per day, and therefore bingeing on carbs.
  • Starting tomorrow I’m going to use 33 points plus per day.
  • I’m going to focus on getting in my dairy, oils and protein.
  • I’m going to reduce my carb intake (cereal, cereal and more cereal!)
  • I’ll see how the points increase helps with my weight loss/maintenance.
  • Truthfully I’d like to get down to the mid to low 140’s and change my goal weight, so I still have a ways to go.

Here’s to having a plan! Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

