Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

Carrot Cake Pancakes!

on February 13, 2013

Carrot Cake Pancakes

Their photo………………………………………………………………………………………….My supper!

Carrot Cake Pancakes Recipe carrot cake pancake
 
 
 
 
 
 
Recipe from Cooking Light
This made 10 pancakes at 4 PointsPlus each.
 

Ingredients

 
  • 5.6 ounces all-purpose flour (about 1 1/4 cups)
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, toasted   (I used 1 ounce)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • Dash of ground cloves (didn’t have any)
  • Dash of ground ginger
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups finely grated carrot (about 1 pound) (I used 10 ounces since that was 2 cups)
  • Cooking spray

Preparation

1. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups, and level with a knife. Combine flour and next 7 ingredients (through ginger) in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Combine 1/4 cup brown sugar and next 4 ingredients (through eggs); add sugar mixture to flour mixture, stirring just until moist. Fold in 2 cups carrot.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Spoon 4 (1/4 cup) batter mounds onto pan, spreading with a spatula. Cook for 2 minutes or until tops are covered with bubbles and edges look cooked. Carefully turn pancakes over; cook 1 minute or until bottoms are lightly browned. Repeat procedure twice with remaining batter.

Maureen Callahan, Cooking Light  JANUARY 2010

Yesterday was Fat Tuesday. In honor of that (or for an excuse to make) I made pancakes. Not just ordinary pancakes, but Carrot Cake Pancakes! The girls and hubby loved them, as did I. I topped mine with 1 Laughing Cow Cream Cheese wedge mixed with some powdered sugar and vanilla extract! Yummy! More points for a supper than I like to use, but well worth it!

My workout this morning was 20 minutes on the elliptical, ab work and hula hooping! I’m much better today. In fact, I didn’t have to start 3 times before I got the hoop going I got it right away. It’s painful though. It hurts around my waist as it rotates around, but it’s a good workout that’s for sure!

The scale at home said 148.4# for the third day. I weigh-in at work again today and I’m hoping for a small loss from last week’s weigh-in. I’m still working towards my goal of 145#, slowly but surely.

This afternoon I have Zumba which I am looking forward to! This class is usually pretty full and a good time. Hubby is at work today, for how long? We aren’t sure. I’m hoping he’ll be home before school ends so that I don’t have to drag the girls to Zumba with me. It’s nice to just do things without worrying about the kiddos.

That’s all I’ve got! Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

