Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

It’s a Sunny Sunday!

on February 17, 2013

Good morning! Yesterday hubby was quite busy building a loft for L. It turned out great and she’s super happy about it. The hard part is getting the cat up there, since she’s declawed she can’t really dig into anything to get up there. She can get down though, we’ve witnessed that! Here’s the bed, don’t mind any mess, it’s a lot better than it used to be.

Lydia's bed

I also made a new recipe for supper last night. It’s from the Weight Watchers website.

Slow-Cooker Cheeseburger Soup

Slow Cooker Cheeseburger Soup
 
Prep time: 15 min
Cook time: 120 min
Serves: 8

Ingredients

  2 spray(s) cooking spray   
  1 clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s), minced   
  1 medium uncooked onion(s), chopped (I used 1 cup)  
  1 rib(s) (medium) uncooked celery, chopped    (I used 1/2 cup)
  1 pound(s) uncooked 93% lean ground beef   (I used 96% lean)
  2 Tbsp all-purpose flour   (I used 1 T)
  3 cup(s) canned chicken broth, divided (I used 2 c. water, 2 bouillon cubes)  
  1 cup(s) low-fat evaporated milk   (I used fat free)
  8 oz low-fat cheddar or colby cheese, cubed   (I only had 4 oz. colby jack)
  1/2 tsp paprika   
  1/4 tsp table salt   
  1/8 tsp black pepper   
  24 item(s) baked low-fat tortilla chips, crumbled   (didn’t use)

Instructions

  • Coat a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium-high heat for about 30 seconds. Add garlic, onion and celery to skillet; cook, stirring frequently, until vegetables are tender, about 5 to 10 minutes. Coat a 3-quart or larger slow cooker with cooking spray; spoon in vegetables.
  • Place same skillet over medium-high heat and brown beef, breaking up meat with a wooden spoon as it cooks, about 5 to 6 minutes; pour off any liquid and add meat to slow cooker.
  • In a small cup, combine flour and 1/2 cup of broth; stir until lump-free. Pour flour mixture into same skillet; add remaining 2 1/2 cups of broth. Bring to a simmer, scraping up any browned bits in bottom of skillet with a wooden spoon, and then pour into slow cooker; stir in evaporated milk, cheese, paprika, salt and pepper. Cover slow cooker and cook on low setting for 2 hours. Serve soup topped with crumbled chips. Yields about 3/4 cup of soup and 3 tablespoons of chips per serving.

Notes

  • If the soup cooks too long, the cheese could separate. If that happens, combine 1 tablespoon of all-purpose flour and 1/4 cup of soup in a cup; stir to a paste. Stir flour mixture back into soup in slow cooker; cover and cook on low setting for 10 to 15 minutes.

Prior to me making this recipe I read the reviews. Most said it was too soupy, so I omitted 1 c. of water and it seemed just right to me then. As I was eating it it reminded me of something. Then it hit me! It tasted like Hamburger Helper, but loads better! It was delicous, the girls liked it and all we have left is about one small bowl.

cheeseburger soup

Here’s a picture of my bowl, not very photogenic, but super tasty! This bowl was 6 PointsPlus and I ate a salad after.

On to today. My workout was 24 minutes on the treadmill doing a program, and then walking for another 15 or so minutes. I then busted out this DVD from the library.

6 week 6 pack

Surprisingly I have NOT done this DVD before. I stuck with level 1 and it was pretty good. She has you go through all the moves once at a nice slower pace and then you repeat it much quicker! About 30 minutes or so and it was pretty tough. I’m hoping to feel some abdominal burn tomorrow! LOL My weight this morning was 147.2#! Sweet! Can you see how bad I want my reward of a massage?

After breakfast hubby and I went to the store, we left the girls home alone this time. They did great! They were even dressed by the time we got back. It seems they are more motivated to do things when we aren’t around nagging them. Hmm…

This afternoon I may or may not be baking some oatmeal cookies. I’m leaning more towards may at this point. I like to freeze them and then put one in the girls’ lunches during the week. This upcoming week L isn’t interested in any hot lunch from the school and C only chose Friday.

Oh, in some great news, I have someone going along with me to the Zumbathon next Sunday! My friend Denise says it sounds like a good time and I thankful for the company for the drive over and having someone to dance with. I also messaged an old friend on Facebook who lives in Baraboo and who now is a Zumba instructor herself and invited her to meet me there. I haven’t seen her in ages, she’s lost a lot of weight, gave up gluten (since her child has issues) and looks fantastic in photos. I can’t wait to see her in real life again!

That’s it from me, enjoy the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

