Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

Waffles!

on March 3, 2013

Good morning! So, I’m trying to stay true to mixing it up in March. My breakfast this morning was a waffle! I love love love waffles & pancakes and just carbs in general! LOL The problem of course is they don’t fill me up. Or maybe that’s just mental. Anyhoo, I found this recipe yesterday….

Whole-Wheat Banana Waffles 

6 PointsPlus Value    Serves: 4

If you don’t have a food processor, you can use a blender. Alternatively, place the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

 

Ingredients

  1/2 cup(s) whole wheat flour   
  1/2 cup(s) all-purpose flour   
  1 1/2 tsp baking powder   
  1/2 tsp ground cinnamon   
  1/2 tsp table salt   
  1 medium banana(s), peeled and cut into chunks   
  1/2 cup(s) fat-free skim milk   
  1 Tbsp sugar   
  1 Tbsp canola oil   
  1 large egg(s)   
  1 tsp vanilla extract   

Instructions

  • Spray a waffle iron with nonstick spray and heat according to the manufacturer’s directions.
  • Place the whole-wheat flour, flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in a food processor or blender; pulse to blend, about 3 seconds. Add the banana, milk, sugar, oil, egg, and vanilla; pulse three times. Scrape down the side of the bowl, then process until smooth, about 30 seconds.
  • Place 1⁄2 cup of the batter in the heated waffle iron, close, and cook as directed until brown, about 2 minutes. Repeat with the remaining batter, making a total of 4 waffles. Yields 1 waffle per serving.

Notes

  • Mash the banana in another bowl and whisk in the remaining wet ingredients. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix until smooth, about 2 minutes.

For once I did not modify a recipe! LOL I added frozen blueberries to mine while it cooked, so it looked like this.

whole wheat waffle

It was good and let’s see how long it sticks with me! 🙂

My workout this morning was a 15 minute run on the treadmill, followed by some arms and abs on my own. Nothing to hard core for a Sunday. I may walk on the treadmill this afternoon if I get the urge to. The scale was down to 147.4#, so here’s hoping Wednesday looks good for weigh in.

Tomorrow I have a doctor’s appointment and I have to stop at the girls’ school to pick up some books for L. The Learning Coach at the school assembled a bunch of social studies and science books for her to go through so she’ll be caught up on 5th grade curriculum before next Fall. Thankfully she loves to read so it won’t be a struggle to get her to go through them all.

Last night the girls’ cousin Lily spent the night. Surprisingly they were asleep before 10pm and slept until after 6:30am. Not too shabby for a sleepover.

That’s it from me. Enjoy your sunny day!

Leave a Reply

