Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

It’s a snow day again!

on March 5, 2013

Well, I woke up this morning at 4:30am to see NO snow! Hmm….the weather man assured me it was on it’s way. Many schools canceled in anticipation of a lot of snow. I get upstairs after exercising to have the phone ring to hear school is canceled here too. Well, around 7ish it started to snow and it’s now almost 9:30am and it’s coming down like crazy. The roads weren’t so hot on the way home.

So, my doctor said to get more fat into my diet. I’ve already started working on it. Here’s how….

  • I’m going to eat more nuts, walnuts, cashews & almonds are what we have around
  • I bought individual servings of guacamole to try
  • I bought some salmon and found a recipe for salmon cakes
  • I’m going to get in my olive & canola oil each day
  • I’m going to incorporate some olives into my diet
  • I’m keeping track of my fat grams throughout the day, aiming for 30-60 grams
  • I checked back on Sparkspeople and when I was logging my food I was only getting 15% of my daily calories from fat, she’d like that more around 30%

My exercise this morning was running on the treadmill for 30 minutes. I do mean running! I was going from 6.3-7mph most of the time, I logged just over 3 miles! Home scale was 147.8#.

In keeping with mixing up my food, my breakfast was a recipe I found online. It made a single serving oat pancake.

oat pancake

  • 1/4 c. quick oats
  • 1/4 c. pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 c. egg whites
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1 t. cinnamon

Mix it all and cook it up. My thoughts for next time, waaaayyy less cinnamon and a packet of truvia. I also added in some walnuts after I put it into the pan to cook.

Nothing else to say, here’s a picture of Amelia in the morning. She’s always such a kitten! LOL

morning cat

Leave a Reply

