Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

Up 5#

on July 9, 2013

 Sadly, I’m not referring to ‘lifting’ more weight, rather gaining weight. It seems since I started CrossFit I’ve also gained almost 5#. It’s not muscle. My tummy feels flabby. Weird? Sadly, I can’t really pinpoint what is causing it. There are a few variables. One, I started taking birth control pills again at the same time I started CrossFit. Second, my eating wasn’t awesome the weekend of my reunion, but it’s been pretty decent since then. Third, I’m doing a lot less cardio since I’ve added in the strength training I’m doing. So, what to do? First, I’m not going to sweat it too much (haha, sweat it!). I’m going to try to figure out a bit more cardio at home during the week. Looking ahead to this week I could fit in a run tomorrow morning after I take the kids to school and possibly Thursday morning. A lot of that depends on my workout before and how much energy and strength I have left. Second, I know I can work on my food choices. That’s always a work in progress. There’s nothing I can do about the BC pill, I have to take that or I’ll just be a hunch-back lady! Anyhoo, on to today’s killer workout!

Tuesday
Warm up
3 laps
Burpee broad jumps
Lunges
Bear walk
All of these are old hat, nothing new here.

Skill: hand stand, 5 min

When I saw this last night I got nervous, then I pulled on my big girl panties and said I WOULD do it this morning! I did 3 successful handstands! Yeah, I can’t hold it for 5 minutes, but I tried and I didn’t wuss-out and for that I am proud.

Workout
A- Jerk
5x5x3x3x2x2 on 90 second clock

I  used the 35# bar for this.
B-
18 minute AMRAP
20 Abmat
5 Burpee tuck jumps – A regular burpee but when we jump up we grab our legs in a tuck! Hard!
15 push ups
10 WallBall – I used the 10# medicine ball
So for this workout we were to complete As Many Rounds As Possible in 18 minutes. I lost track, but I think I almost got done 5 rounds. Jesse got done 8, he’s an animal!
 
~~~
Yesteday was my first day training at the library. I worked from 8:30-1pm and the time flew by. I did a variety of things. I set up for a reading time and cleaned up afterwards and then reset up for another program that is tonight. I learned how to check in summer reading program kids and give out their prizes. I briefly learned how to check-in and check-out books. I even helped 2 people find some books they were looking for. I ended my time with more prep for Wednesday’s storytime. Since I’m working with the Children’s Librarian and her assistant I will be doing a lot of prep work for activities. I train today from 9-1 and then Thursday from 1-3. I’m excited to see what I’ll learn today! The hard part is remembering all the co-workers names. It takes me forever to get that down. I blame old age. 😛
Leave a Reply

