Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

99 Books Read!

on January 1, 2014

Happy 2014! I haven’t been doing too much the past few days. Let’s see….L lost a molar 2 days ago and yesterday she lost the neighboring tooth. Thank goodness, they were giving her all sorts of problems eating. I’m also glad for the molar to be gone since it had a filling in it. She gets a fresh start.

The gym has been closed the last 2 mornings. So yesterday I worked out at home in the morning and then walked and read in the afternoon. Today is a DOR in keeping with the past 2 years New Year’s Day tradition of NOT working out. πŸ™‚ I did take body measurements today though. While I know my weight is up from last year, even though I don’t know how much since I ditched the scale, some of my measurements have gone down. My waist is the same, but I lost an inch off my butt and 1/2″ off my thighs. My biceps are actually a 1/2″ larger, but that’s now muscle instead of flab! πŸ™‚

I’m not one much on New Year’s Resolutions. I do realize that I need to get my food back in control and continue to incorporate more activity in my life. It’s no surprise I have a problem with cereal, nuts, trail mix, etc. So I guess that cereal needs to be OFF LIMITS to me. I’m also going to work on *continue to work on* my nighttime snacking. I’d like to see improvement on the scale, meaning I’d like to lose the few pounds that I’ve gained. If I have gained muscle, great! however, I do have a fair amount of fat that could be gotten rid of. πŸ™‚ The scale will remain in the closet. I like the feeling of weighing in once a week at work and that’s it. That number doesn’t hang over my head every day and it’s important to just ‘be’.

I’ve read 99 books this past year! Can I read 100 this year? I’m not sure, I just know I’m more focused on quality that quantity. If the book sucks I stop reading it. There are too many more to read to waste my time.

I’ve also realized that this year I turn 40! Cheese-n-rice! When the heck did that happen? Aren’t I still 28 or so? I guess my 30’s are about over and I’ll be embarking into new territory. That probably explains all my aches and pains associated with going to Crossfit! Age….it’s starting to show.

Regardless of all that, I’m going to have a great 2014. This year we are hoping to take another trip to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. We had such a great time up there two summers ago.

Enjoy your New Year!

Leave a Reply

