Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

2 fails & a PR!

on January 17, 2015

So I did something today I haven’t done in ages! I went to the gym on a Saturday. Open gym was from 9-10:30am. Of course I was up at 5am, ate breakfast and walked slowly on the treadmill for a bit while watching Hell’s Kitchen. I had somewhat of a plan going in today. I wanted to do some of Thursday’s workout.

I ended up doing some power snatches, but just wasn’t feeling it today. I did 60# and failed on 65# and just conceded that it wasn’t my day for this move.

I then moved on to overhead squats. I love this move and want to get better at it. I did a ton of reps, like 30+ in total. I got up to 80# and failed at 85#. Only then did I look at my old PR to find out I had a new one at 80#!

Finally I worked on strict press. Tough move since there is no extra help from the hips to lift this weight. I did 20+ reps and got to my old max of 75# and failed on 80#.

After that is was some handstand balance work and then stretching. I can already feel I’m going to be sore.

This afternoon when we drop of L at her friends we are heading into town to pickup a movie that C wants and then walking around town a bit. It’s in the low 40’s right now which doesn’t seem too bad.

I’m also going to post the recipe from the other night. The whole family loved it!

Southwestern Lentil and Brown Rice Bake
Author: Carol Borchardt
Recipe type: Vegetarian
Cuisine: Southwestern / Mexican
Serves: 4-6
Ingredients
  • ½ medium onion, finely chopped (about 1 cup)
  • ½ medium green bell pepper, chopped (about ½ cup)
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • ¾ cup brown lentils
  • ¾ cup long-grain brown rice
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 can (15-ounce) petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (4-ounce) diced green chilies
  • 1 tablespoon taco or other Southwestern seasoning blend
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano (preferably Mexican)
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1½ cups shredded cheese (Monterey Jack, Pepperjack or white Cheddar)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Combine all ingredients, except the cheese, in an 8 x 8-inch baking dish and mix well. Cover and bake 1½ hours, stirring twice while the mixture is baking. On the second “stir,” add 1 cup of cheese.
  3. When done, the liquid should all be absorbed. Sprinkle with remaining cheese and return to oven until cheese has melted.
  4. Allow to stand 5-10 minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

