Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

New Recipe!

on January 18, 2015

PIZZA QUINOA CASSEROLE

Serves 4 as a side

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked quinoa cooked in 2 cups water or about 3-1/2 cups cooked quinoa

6 oz. tomato paste

3-4 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 small onion, diced (I used 1/2 c.)

2 Tbsp water

1-1/2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil (I used 1/2 T.)

2 Roma tomatoes, diced (I used one can diced tomatoes, drained)

2 Tbsp fresh basil, chopped (I used 1 T. dried basil)

1 Tbsp dried parsley

1 tsp marjoram (didn’t have)

1 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp fennel seed

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

1/4 tsp sugar

3/4 salt

1/2 cup shredded Mozzarella

Directions:

  1. Rinse quinoa well and combine with water in a small pot over high heat.  Bring to a boil, cover and turn down to low and simmer for 15 minutes until all the liquid is absorbed, the quinoa is tender and completely cooked.  Remove from the heat and leave covered in the pot for 5 minutes while assembling other ingredients.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease four 1 cup ramekins, two 2 cup dishes or a larger casserole dish, depending on how you want to bake and serve this.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the tomato paste with the garlic and onion, water and olive oil.  Mix well.  Add tomatoes and all the seasonings.  Mix well again before adding the quinoa.  Once the mixture is completely mixed, taste for seasonings and add more salt as needed.  Then divide evenly among the dishes for baking, sprinkle with cheese and place in the oven.
  4. Bake 30-35 minutes until the cheese is golden and bubbly or until the quinoa on top is golden and crispy.  If desired, sprinkle with more fresh basil or parsley and serve.

Source: Natural Noshing

I made this in a large casserole dish and we just scooped out what we wanted. 3 out of 4 of us liked it, L wasn’t so sure about it. Next time I may add in beef or chicken and make it more the main meal.

So, what did I do today? Well, I slept like crap so I was up early and on Saturday we started moving around the bedrooms for the girls. Now L & C are in the big bedroom with bunk beds (built by hubby). L’s old room, which is smaller, now has the book shelf and crafts. It was a TON of work and I had to work with the girls all morning to get through it all. Thankfully things are in order now and they are enjoying the new spaces.

Did I work out? Nothing formal. I only have 4500 steps and I did climb 7 flights of stairs with all the laundry I did! I usually don’t get many flights of stairs at all in my day on a normal basis.

My upcoming week…

  • Monday – gym, work 8:45-1, walk on treadmill, homemade hamburger helper for supper, L has piano (my turn to take her)
  • Tuesday – gym, walk on treadmill, work 1-5, shredded beef tacos from the crockpot
  • Wednesday – gym, walk on treadmill, errands, work WW and weigh-in, lunch out with Cheryl, work 5-8:30
  • Thursday – day of rest, work 8:45-1, pickup L from Art Club, work WW (hubby gets L and then C from school)
  • Friday – gym, work 8:45-1 for co-worker, half day of school for the kiddos
Leave a Reply

