Pardeemom

My life as a woman, wife and mother.

Winning and Day 1 of Whole 30!

on June 1, 2015

First of all the gym this morning….

This week is the last in our current 4 week cycle, and will be a change of pace from what we’ve been doing. Heavy singles on the Olympic lifts (we haven’t been practicing the full movements so take a few minutes each day to review your technique) and 1 single set of 15 (after warm-ups), on the slow lifts. Continue to do QUALITY work over quantity.

Monday’s WOD:
A) Snatch, 15 min to build to heavy single – I did 75# successfully, my current PR. I attempted 80# and almost had it!
Notes: take no more than 5 legitimate attempts on the snatch OR if you miss a given weight 3 times, shut it down

B) For time (10 min cut-off)
21-15-9
thrusters, 95/65
bar-facing burpees  8:25

It was a good morning at the gym. I’m paying for overindulging over the weekend. Tomorrow will be better.

Today is my first day of Whole 30. I weighed myself (it was baaadddd) and took some measurements, which weren’t as bad so that makes me believe I’m retaining fluid. I had C take some photos of me. I may post those along with my afters when I’m done. They are not flattering. I did take some close-ups up my face too, hoping to see improvement.

What have I had so far today?

Day 1 breakfast

This was breakfast at 6:45am. 2 eggs + some whites mixed with potato, broccoli, onions, peppers, mushrooms all cooked in homemade ghee. Lots of spices! A homemade turkey breakfast sausage and a side of kiwi and pineapple tidbits. Lots of lemon/orange water of course.

That was it until my break at 11:15am. I had an apple with lemon juice (to keep from browning) and cinnamon. I dipped it in homemade almond butter.

Day 1 morning snack

I had an errand after work so I ate lunch around 1:30pm

Day 1 lunch

This was a homemade salmon patty with homemade mayo and relish on top. My salad had veggies, olives (for fat), homemade Thousand Island dressing and some olive oil drizzled on top. A side of cherries and cantaloupe.

After a bit I went for a walk and had a small serving of sunflower seeds.

Day 1 afternoon snack

Whole 30 says 3 meals a day, minimal snacking. I’m going to do what it takes to survive! This small bit of sunflower seeds is a far cry from my normal snack.

Supper will be chicken kebabs and roasted potatoes. I’m also thinking of garlicky green beans.

I’ve also marinated the chicken, made a savory egg bake and cooked a spaghetti squash.

My week…

  • Monday – gym, work 8:45-1, kebabs
  • Tuesday – gym, walk, work 1-5, sweet potato pizza
  • Wednesday – gym, walk, work WW, shop work 5-8:30, tuna salad
  • Thursday – DOR, work 8:45-1, girls done with school at noon, work WW, pick C up from party at 7pm, BBQ pork
  • Friday – gym, walk, dentist at 11am, supper?

So what did I win? A free month at my gym! I had the most Facebook checkins last month!

Leave a Reply

